Sovol M1D release date and price: $1,499 Essential and $1,799 Advanced pre-orders, estimated to ship late December to early January
The Sovol M1D has no retail release date yet. On October 16, 2026, Sovol's own US store sold it as a pre-order at $1,499 for the M1D Essential and $1,799 for the M1D Advanced (regular prices shown: $1,799 and $2,099), with the note "Estimated to ship between late December to early January." The Kickstarter campaign that opened on July 28, 2026 was reported to expect deliveries from November 2026.
- Status on Oct. 16, 2026
- Pre-order on Sovol's US store; not shipping yet
- Estimated ship window
- Late December to early January (Sovol store)
- M1D Essential (open frame)
- $1,499 pre-order / $1,799 regular
- M1D Advanced (enclosed, heated chamber)
- $1,799 pre-order / $2,099 regular
- Toolheads
- 1 fixed + 6 tool-changing, up to 7 colors or materials
- Build volume (single toolhead)
- 300 × 300 × 350 mm
- Announced
- Press release dated July 24, 2026; Kickstarter opened July 28, 2026 (reported)
Figures above were read from Sovol's M1D product page and its Shopify product data on 2026-10-16. Kickstarter facts are reported by the outlets named below. See sources.
US price by version on October 16, 2026
Sovol's store has one M1D listing with two options, M1D Essential and M1D Advanced, and a "Ship From" choice of US, EU, CA, UK, AU or CN. The store's product data lists the same prices in US dollars for every ship-from option. The pre-order price is $300 below the regular price shown for each version.
| Version | Pre-order price | Regular price shown | Structure | Active chamber heating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| M1D Essential | $1,499 | $1,799 | Open structure (without enclosure kit) | No |
| M1D Advanced | $1,799 | $2,099 | Enclosed chamber (with enclosure kit) | Up to 60°C |
Sovol lists PLA, PETG, TPU and PVA as recommended materials for the Essential, and adds ABS, ASA, PA and PC for the Advanced. Sovol's FAQ says "M1D will ship as preassembled modules rather than as one fully assembled unit." For the Advanced, the enclosure panels and chamber heating module ship in a separate box that may arrive at a different time, according to the same FAQ.
How the price moved: forum, deposit, Kickstarter, store
The M1D price has been stated several times since June 2026. Only the store prices are current.
| When | Where | Essential | Advanced |
|---|---|---|---|
| June 29, 2026 | Sovol's official forum account: price then quoted without the enclosure, to be lowered later; deposit holders to get a VIP price | $1,399, then $1,299; VIP $1,199 | Not stated |
| Before the campaign | Sovol deposit landing page | VIP $1,199 ("Save $100 over Super Early Bird") | Not stated on the page |
| July 28 to late August 2026 | Kickstarter early bird, in Hong Kong dollars (reported by CNX Software) | HK$10,184 (about $1,299) | HK$12,536 (about $1,599) |
| October 16, 2026 | Sovol US store pre-order | $1,499 | $1,799 |
The deposit page reads "Save $100 over Super Early Bird — only $1,199" but does not say which version the figure applies to. The forum post that gives $1,199 as the VIP price refers to the price without the enclosure.
Kickstarter: what is on record
Sovol's press release, dated July 24, 2026 on PR Newswire, says the M1D would "formally open for pre-orders with detailed pricing and structural specifications" on July 28, 2026. The release gives the build volume as 300 × 300 × 350 mm and says Sovol will open-source the Klipper-based firmware configurations.
The campaign ran on Kickstarter. All3DP reported on July 29, 2026 that Sovol's campaign update counted $2 million in pledges in the 130 minutes after launch, and that the total was just over $2.8 million about 24 hours later. CNX Software reported the same day that deliveries were expected to begin in November 2026.
We could not read the Kickstarter page itself: kickstarter.com returned an access error (HTTP 403) to our request, so the final pledge total, the closing date and the current backer delivery schedule are not confirmed here.
Ship date: Kickstarter estimate vs store estimate
- Kickstarter (July 2026): deliveries expected to begin in November 2026, as reported by CNX Software.
- Sovol US store (October 11 and October 16, 2026): "Estimated to ship between late December to early January." We recorded the same wording on both dates.
The store shows one estimate for the listing and does not give separate windows for the Essential and the Advanced. Sovol's shipping policy lists Alaska, Guam, Hawaii and Puerto Rico as areas it does not ship to in the United States.
Official specs
| Spec | Sovol M1D (Sovol's figures) |
|---|---|
| Build volume, single toolhead | 300 × 300 × 350 mm |
| Build volume, right-side 6-toolhead switching | 300 × 300 × 350 mm |
| Build volume, 7-toolhead printing (1 left + 6 right) | 240 × 300 × 350 mm |
| Build volume, copy mode | 178 × 300 × 350 mm × 2 |
| Build volume, mirror mode | 138 × 300 × 350 mm × 2 |
| Toolhead swap | As little as 5 seconds |
| Max printing speed | 600 mm/s |
| Max acceleration | 10,000 mm/s² |
| Max flow rate | 30 mm³/s |
| Max nozzle temperature | 300°C |
| Max heated bed temperature | 100°C |
| Nozzle | Hardened steel; 0.4 mm default, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional |
| Build plate | Single-sided PEI textured steel plate |
| Filament system | 6-channel auto filament system, 1.75 mm filament |
| Cameras | XY offset calibration camera, 2 toolhead calibration cameras, chamber camera |
| Touchscreen | 5-inch |
| Slicer | OrcaSlicer (default); macOS and Windows |
| Printer package weight | 39.3 kg (enclosure kit package 12.05 kg) |
| Printer package dimensions | 682 × 682 × 461 mm |
Sovol's FAQ says a 350°C hotend kit is planned as a future option and that "Further details about upgrade specifications and availability will be announced once finalized."
Sovol M1D vs Snapmaker U1: official specs side by side
Both are FDM printers that swap whole toolheads instead of pushing every color through one nozzle. The table lists each company's published figures only. It does not rate either printer. Our Snapmaker U1 page has that printer's release dates and price history.
| Spec | Sovol M1D | Snapmaker U1 |
|---|---|---|
| US store price, Oct. 16, 2026 | $1,499 Essential / $1,799 Advanced (pre-order) | $749 (compare-at price $999) |
| Status on the US store | Pre-order, est. ship late Dec. to early Jan. | Listed for sale, not marked pre-order |
| Toolheads | 1 fixed + 6 tool-changing (up to 7) | 4 |
| Build volume | 300 × 300 × 350 mm (single toolhead); 240 × 300 × 350 mm (all 7) | 270 × 270 × 270 mm |
| Max speed | 600 mm/s | 500 mm/s (toolhead) |
| Max acceleration | 10,000 mm/s² | 20,000 mm/s² |
| Max hot end flow | 30 mm³/s | 32 mm³/s |
| Max nozzle / bed temperature | 300°C / 100°C | 300°C / 100°C |
| Stock nozzle | Hardened steel, 0.4 mm | Stainless steel, 0.4 mm |
| Enclosure | Advanced: enclosed, active heating up to 60°C; Essential: open | Optional Top Cover |
| Copy and mirror modes | Yes (two independent toolheads) | Not listed in Snapmaker's specifications |
| Touchscreen | 5-inch | 3.5-inch, 320 × 480 |
| Slicer | OrcaSlicer | Snapmaker Orca, OrcaSlicer |
Readers also compare the M1D with the Bambu Lab H2C and the Prusa INDX tool changer. Those are not covered on this page. Our 2026 release date and price tracker lists other launches from this year.
What we could not confirm
- A firm ship date. Sovol's store gives only an estimated window; we found no dated shipping announcement on sovol3d.com, its blog or its forum thread.
- The Kickstarter page itself, including the final pledge total, the closing date, the Advanced tier prices and the current backer delivery schedule. kickstarter.com returned HTTP 403 to our request. The figures above come from All3DP and CNX Software.
- Which version the deposit page's $1,199 VIP figure covers. The page does not say.
- The shipping charge for an M1D order to a US address. Sovol's shipping policy lists free shipping on new 3D printers with named exceptions, and the M1D is not named either way.
- How long the $1,499 and $1,799 pre-order prices last. The store does not give an end date.
- The printer's assembled dimensions and net weight. Sovol publishes package figures only.
- The date the store pre-order opened. Sovol's product page does not state it.
- Price and release date of the planned 350°C hotend kit.
- Sales through other retailers (Amazon and others). We did not check them for this page.
Questions
What is the Sovol M1D release date?
How much is the Sovol M1D?
Was the Sovol M1D on Kickstarter?
What does the M1D Advanced add?
What is the Sovol M1D build volume?
Sources
- Sovol M1D prices, ship estimate, versions, specs and FAQ - Sovol store: Pre-Order Sovol M1D 3D Printer, read 2026-10-16
- Sovol M1D variant prices and compare-at prices - Sovol store product data, read 2026-10-16
- VIP deposit price - Sovol M1D deposit landing page, read 2026-10-16
- Early price statement by Sovol's official account - Sovol3d forum, "Sovol M1d" thread, post #25, read 2026-10-16
- Announcement and pre-order opening date - Sovol press release, PR Newswire, July 24, 2026, read 2026-10-16
- US areas not served - Sovol shipping policy, read 2026-10-16
- Kickstarter pledges (reported) - All3DP, July 29, 2026, read 2026-10-16
- Kickstarter early bird tiers and delivery estimate (reported) - CNX Software, July 29, 2026, read 2026-10-16
- Snapmaker U1 price and specifications - Snapmaker US store: Snapmaker U1 3D Printer, read 2026-10-16
Source links are not affiliate links. This page records published prices and specifications; it does not rate print quality.